Children's National Hospital
Led by Dr. Megan Lynne Young, MD. Limb Lengthening and Deformity, Orthopaedic Trauma; Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, George Washington University
This profile is the free listing
Children's National Hospital can publish up to 10 photos, a clinic video, a surgeon interview and its own articles on this page. Ranking and reviews are not part of it and never change.
About Children's National Hospital
Children's National Hospital in Washington, DC lists a Limb Lengthening Program within its orthopaedic department at 111 Michigan Avenue NW. Megan Lynne Young, MD — Limb Lengthening and Deformity, Orthopaedic Trauma, and Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at George Washington University — trained at Texas Scottish Rite and is the only one of the hospital's 15 orthopaedic surgeons whose listed specialty includes limb lengthening. PRECICE 2 is the recorded method.
One surgeon carries the programme, which is paediatric and reconstructive in scope. The hospital's newsroom reports her as the 2019 LLRS Traveling Fellow, but that award could not be confirmed on llrs.org, so it is not stated here as fact. External fixation is described only generically; neither Ilizarov nor the Taylor Spatial Frame is named on any page. Nothing is published on price, international patient services or reviews.
Paediatric, reconstructive. Single-surgeon dependency. The hospital's newsroom reports her as the 2019 LLRS Traveling Fellow, but that award could not be confirmed on llrs.org, so it is not stated as fact here. Neither Ilizarov nor the Taylor Spatial Frame is named on any page — external fixation is described only generically. Added 2026-08-12 in the US roster expansion; provenance in docs/research/us-expansion-2026-08/.
Why we listed this clinic
Dr Young trained at Texas Scottish Rite and is the only one of the hospital's 15 orthopaedic surgeons whose listed specialty includes limb lengthening. The program page confirms hospital-wide international-patient services and Spanish-language access, plus U.S. News Honor Roll (2025-2026) and Magnet accreditation, none of which were recorded previously. The device is referenced only generically as "PRECICE" on this page (no version number), whereas the prior record specified PRECICE 2.
Methods offered
- PRECICE 2Read about PRECICE 2 →
Surgeons
- Dr. Megan Lynne Young, MDLimb Lengthening and Deformity, Orthopaedic Trauma; Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, George Washington UniversityView profile →
Compare with every other leg lengthening surgeon in the directory.
International patient services
true
Accreditations
- ●U.S. News & World Report Honor Roll (2025-2026)
- ●Magnet Recognition, American Nurses Credentialing Center
Common questions about Children's National Hospital
Answers are built from this clinic's verified record — not from the clinic's marketing.
How much does limb lengthening cost at Children's National Hospital?
Children's National Hospital does not publish a price, and we do not invent one. Comparable USA clinics in this directory range widely by method; use the cost estimator or contact the clinic for a written quote before travelling.
Which limb lengthening methods does Children's National Hospital offer?
Children's National Hospital lists PRECICE 2. The lead surgeon on record is Dr. Megan Lynne Young (MD). Each method page on this site explains how the device works, typical gain and the trade-offs.
What does recovery look like after surgery at Children's National Hospital?
Distraction runs at roughly 1 mm per day for 4–8 weeks, consolidation takes another 3–6 months while the new bone hardens, and physiotherapy-led return to full activity is usually 6–12 months from surgery. Children's National Hospital works with fully internal nails (PRECICE 2), so there is no external frame to manage and most patients move to partial weight-bearing earlier than with fixators.
Does Children's National Hospital treat international patients?
true. Consultation languages on record: English, Spanish.
How was Children's National Hospital verified for this directory?
Children's National Hospital is listed at Tier 2 — surgeon name, address and methods are verified, but full outcome and regulatory review is not yet complete. We hold 5 source URLs for this entry. Last verified 2026-09-11. The clinic cannot pay to change its tier, ranking or reviews; paid options only affect presentation and are always labelled.
Where is Children's National Hospital and where are operations performed?
Children's National Hospital is in Washington, DC, USA. Hospital affiliation on record: Children's National Hospital, 111 Michigan Ave NW 4Main Suite 4100, Washington DC 20010
How we verified this clinic
- Tier
- Tier 2 — verified basics
- Last verified
- 2 days ago
- Hospital affiliation
- Children's National Hospital, 111 Michigan Ave NW 4Main Suite 4100, Washington DC 20010
- Languages at consultation
- English, Spanish
Verification covers: named surgeon credentials, hospital affiliation, methods offered, public-facing website, and regulatory status. We re-verify quarterly. If a clinic fails a re-verification, we add an editorial note or demote its tier — we do not quietly remove it.
Independence: this clinic cannot pay to change its ranking, Directory Score, tier, or reviews. Paid options affect presentation only and are always labeled. We take no commission and charge no per-patient fee. Editorial policy.
This directory is editorial. It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a substitute for consultation with a qualified surgeon. Pricing and availability change — always verify directly with the clinic before making decisions.