Limb Lengthening ClinicsLimb LengtheningClinics
Method profile

Salamehfix

Salamehfix 1 / SLDF hinged arc external fixator

A three-arc hinged external frame designed to lengthen the bone and correct an axial deviation in the same distraction — used by one surgeon and his team.

Salamehfix 1 is a hinged external fixator built from three small anterior arcs, designed by Prof. Ghassan Salameh to lengthen a bone and straighten an axial deformity in one distraction while the patient bears full weight. One surgeon and his Frankfurt colleague use it. The entire published record is one 2025 series of 1,103 patients, written by the designer.

Medically reviewed by Op. Dr. Hüseyin Kavak(MD, Orthopedics & Traumatology)Last reviewed Sep 11, 2026

How it works

Salamehfix 1 (also called the SLDF system) is an external fixator designed by Prof. Ghassan Salameh — trained in external fixation at CITO in Moscow, the institute at the centre of the Soviet frame tradition — who operates with it himself. Instead of the closed rings of an Ilizarov frame it uses three small anterior arcs joined by hinged distraction rods, with pins entering the bone at several angles and levels. The hinges are the point: because the frame can angulate as it distracts, a bone can be lengthened and a bow or axial deviation straightened during the same treatment, and the design is intended to allow early mobility and full weight-bearing on the frame. In International Orthopaedics (2025) Salameh and Michael Schmidt reported 1,103 lower-limb reconstructions performed with the system between 2000 and 2024 — 640 of them combining lengthening with deformity correction, and 193 of them stature (cosmetic) lengthening. Mean lengthening across the series was 5.6 cm (range 2–18 cm) with a mean bone healing time of 260 days; the stature subgroup averaged 6.5 cm. That one paper is, so far, the entire published evidence base for the device.

How the frame works and what you do every day

Picture an Ilizarov frame with the rings cut away, leaving three curved segments on the front of the leg. That is Salamehfix 1. The arcs come in sizes that follow the shape of the thigh or shin, and the designer's site makes a point of the back of the leg being free of hardware, which matters for sleeping and sitting. Wires and pins enter the bone at several angles and levels, which is where the stability comes from. The distraction rods between the arcs are hinged. Turn them and the bone segments move apart; adjust the hinge and they also angulate, so a bowed leg can be straightened while it lengthens.

Your day is frame care and turns. The 2025 paper's abstract does not state the daily distraction rate, and neither does the designer's website, so ask. Pin-site cleaning is a daily job, and in the frame-only protocol the fixator stays on through both distraction and consolidation, a mean of 260 days to bone healing in the published series.

Who it suits and where it is used

Two places: Tartous, on the Syrian coast, and Frankfurt am Main. The 2025 paper lists Prof. Salameh's affiliation as the Salamehfix Limb Lengthening Center in Tartous and his co-author Dr. Michael Schmidt's as the OUZ Center in Frankfurt; the designer's site lists both locations and describes operating in Frankfurt with Schmidt. His training, per his own biography, was Russian: a medical degree in Saint Petersburg in 1983, then a PhD fellowship in external fixation at CITO in Moscow from 1987 to 1991. He has presented the hinge system at ASAMI and SICOT meetings since 2001.

The frame's natural patient is one whose legs need straightening as well as lengthening, a bowed tibia for example, because it does both in one treatment. Of the 1,103 patients in the series, 640 had simultaneous lengthening and deformity correction and 193 were stature cases. For a straight-legged cosmetic patient the case for an external frame over an internal nail is weaker, and rests on full weight-bearing, cost, and not having an implant left in the bone. Anyone choosing it accepts a single-surgeon system.

Protocol: rate, gain and removal

What the paper states: mean lengthening 5.6 cm across all 1,103 patients, range 2 to 18 cm; a mean of 6.5 cm in the 193 stature cases; mean bone healing time 260 days. The abstract does not state the distraction rate, frame time per centimetre, or follow-up after frame removal.

The designer's website adds unpublished specifics. An Arabic-language post puts cosmetic lengthening at up to 8 cm; the cosmetic page shows individual patients at 7.5 cm and 8.5 cm and describes lengthening 'up to 13 cm while correcting varus deformity'. One patient is described as gaining 16.5 cm in two stages two years apart. The same page states that lengthening toward 13 cm 'can lead to ballerina foot, necessitating fractional tendon lengthening': the designer telling you that equinus contracture is a real cost of large gains on this frame.

Weight-bearing is immediate; the site shows patients walking on the third day after surgery. Removal is the frame coming off once the bone has consolidated. Since late 2024 the designer has also combined the frame with an internal nail in a modified lengthening-over-nail protocol for the tibia, described on his site as a first case in Frankfurt.

Risks specific to the device

It is an external fixator, so the standard frame risks apply: pin-site infection, pins tethering muscle, joint stiffness, and visible hardware for the better part of a year. The published series reports these at strikingly low rates: 25 superficial pin-site infections, 9 contractures and 1 deep infection across 1,103 patients, which is under 3% for superficial pin infection. Novikov's 131-patient Ilizarov cosmetic series in Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research reported a 37% overall complication rate. The abstract does not say how events were graded or who recorded them, so a patient cannot tell whether the gap is the frame or the counting.

Two device-specific points deserve a direct question. First, hinges: a frame that can angulate on purpose can also angulate by accident if a hinge is set or locked wrongly, and the abstract reports no alignment data at follow-up. Second, the equinus problem the designer himself describes, ballerina foot at large tibial gains, sometimes needing a tendon-lengthening procedure. Neither appears in the complication counts above.

How much evidence exists, honestly

One paper. Salameh G, Schmidt M, International Orthopaedics 2025;49(11):2599–2605, PubMed 40956411, published online 16 September 2025. A PubMed search for 'Salamehfix' returns that paper and nothing else (September 2026). It is a retrospective, single-system series spanning 24 years, written by the surgeon who designed the device and the colleague he operates with; the authors declare no competing interests. No independent centre has published results with the frame, and it does not appear in the 2020 Bone & Joint Research systematic review of cosmetic stature lengthening, which pooled 795 patients across Ilizarov, LON, LATN, ISKD and PRECICE series.

Before 2025 the record was conference presentations: the designer's biography lists 'a new hinge system' talks at ASAMI meetings in Rome (2001) and Kyoto (2006) and at the Ilizarov Centre in Kurgan (2007). Twenty-four years of use and one paper is a thin record for 1,103 patients. That does not make the frame bad. It makes it unverified, which is a different thing, and one you should price in.

How to read a clinic offering it

There is effectively one clinic, so read the surgeon.

Ask for the full paper, not the abstract, and check three things in it: how complications were defined, how many of the 193 stature patients were followed to the end, and what the frame time per centimetre was. If the definitions are narrow, the low infection count means less.

Ask what the Frankfurt arrangement is. Which hospital, who is the admitting surgeon under German law, who manages pin sites once you fly home, and who takes the frame off. A device carried by one surgeon between two countries needs a written continuity plan.

Ask who manufactures the frame and whether it carries a CE mark; the website and the paper's abstract are silent on both.

Ask for the price in writing with removal, physiotherapy and any tendon-lengthening procedure itemised; the site does not publish one. And be wary if the pitch leans on 16.5 cm or 13 cm. The series mean for stature patients is 6.5 cm.

At a glance

Typical gain
5–8 cm
Total recovery
24–52 weeks
Distraction sites
femur, tibia
External hardware
Yes
Manufacturer
Designed by Prof. Ghassan Salameh (Salamehfix / SLDF); later revisions marketed as Modified SLDF 4 and Salamehfix 3
Status
Regional

What this means for a patient

  • Lengthening and axial correction in a single treatment, without a second procedure
  • Hinged arc design intended for early mobility and full weight-bearing on the frame
  • Frame geometry is customised to the patient and the deformity pattern

Trade-offs and risks

  • External frame: pin-site care, infection risk and visible hardware for months
  • Essentially a single-surgeon system — availability depends on one team
  • Evidence is one retrospective, single-centre series reported by the device designer; the complication rate published for it (25 superficial pin-site infections, 9 contractures and 1 deep infection across 1,103 patients) is far lower than pin-site problem rates usually reported for external fixation, and has not been reproduced independently
Where to find it

1 verified clinic offering Salamehfix

Browse every leg lengthening surgeon in the directory or, if you are new to all of this, start with what height surgery actually involves. For the complication record of this method family, read external-frame complications (Ilizarov series).

Frequently asked questions

What is the Salamehfix fixator?

It is a hinged external fixator built from three small anterior arcs rather than full rings, designed by the orthopaedic surgeon Ghassan Salameh. The hinged rods let the surgeon lengthen a bone and correct an angular deformity at the same time. Wires and pins enter the bone at several angles and levels, and the back of the leg is left free of hardware.

How much evidence is there for it?

One peer-reviewed paper: Salameh G, Schmidt M, International Orthopaedics 2025;49(11):2599–2605 (PMID 40956411), a retrospective series of 1,103 patients treated between 2000 and 2024. It is the surgeon reporting on his own device, it has not yet been replicated by an independent team, and the reported complication rate is unusually low for frame-based lengthening.

Who offers Salamehfix lengthening?

Prof. Salameh, who developed the system and now works in Frankfurt am Main with Dr. Michael Schmidt of the OUZ Orthopädisches Zentrum; his own site and the 2025 paper also list a centre in Tartous, Syria. It is not a device you will find offered across a network of clinics, and none of the US or Turkish clinics listed on this site use it.

How much can you lengthen with Salamehfix?

The published series averaged 6.5 cm in the 193 stature cases and 5.6 cm overall, with a range of 2 to 18 cm across all indications. The designer's website describes cosmetic lengthening of up to 8 cm, individual cases at 13 cm with deformity correction, and one two-stage patient at 16.5 cm. Plan on the series mean, not the website extremes, and expect a mean of 260 days to bone healing.

Can you walk with the Salamehfix frame on?

Yes, and this is the designer's main claim: the paper describes 'early mobility and full weight bearing', and the site shows patients walking on the third day after surgery. Because the arcs sit only on the front of the leg, sitting and sleeping are described as easier than with a full ring frame. Pin-site care continues daily for the whole time the frame is on.

What does Salamehfix cost?

Neither the designer's website nor the 2025 paper publishes a price. Treatment is offered in Tartous, Syria and in Frankfurt, Germany, so cost depends on where you are treated and how long you stay near the surgeon. Ask for a written quote that itemises the frame, the operation, hospital days, physiotherapy, pin-site supplies, frame removal and any tendon-lengthening procedure.

Reading on Salamehfix

Sources
Medical disclaimer

This page is editorial reporting, not medical advice. Every patient anatomy is different — technique selection requires in-person consultation with a qualified surgeon.

Are you a clinic?

Get listed in our directory.

We verify every clinic before listing — surgeons, methods, hospital affiliation, regulatory status. Submit your clinic for editorial review. No paid rankings. No hidden fees.

Apply to be listed