Limb Lengthening ClinicsLimb LengtheningClinics
New York, NY·USA·Fully researched profile

Hospital for Special Surgery

Led by Dr. Austin Fragomen, MD. Chief, Limb Lengthening & Complex Reconstruction Service (since Jan 2026)

Google rating
4.2(654)
Vitals
3.1(162)
on Vitals
Healthgrades
3.8(47)
on Healthgrades
RateMDs
4.8
on RateMDs
Last verified
2 days ago
independently verified
Price range
$125,000–$135,000
clinic-published

This profile is the free listing

Hospital for Special Surgery can publish up to 10 photos, a clinic video, a surgeon interview and its own articles on this page. Ranking and reviews are not part of it and never change.

Are you from this clinic?

About Hospital for Special Surgery

In New York, the Limb Lengthening and Complex Reconstruction Service at Hospital for Special Surgery sits inside a Joint Commission-accredited, Magnet-recognized hospital. Austin Fragomen, MD, has been Chief of the service since January 2026; S. Robert Rozbruch, MD, FAAOS, its founder, is Chief Emeritus and still practicing, and Taylor Reif, MD, is Director of Education. Methods listed are PRECICE 2, Ilizarov, the Taylor Spatial Frame and LATN. The service is an academic center for limb-lengthening research and training.

Clinic-published pricing is $125,000 to $135,000. HSS publishes downloadable post-operative therapy protocols, including a PRECICE-specific guide, but does not state whether therapy is in-house or referred out. The 4.1 Google rating on this listing is hospital-wide, not service-level. As of May 2026 the website still referenced the PRECICE Stryde nail, subject to a 2021 FDA Class II recall; ask whether that is a legacy mention. Overseas patients use the HSS International Center.

Editorial note

Stryde removed from method list (FDA Class II recall active since Feb 2021). [2026-05-20] Clinic website still references PRECICE Stryde despite the FDA Class II recall of February 2021. Confirm whether they still implant this device or whether it is legacy/historical mention. | 2026-06-18 verify: Fragomen is now Chief of Service (Jan 2026); Rozbruch Chief Emeritus. Facility 4.1 rating is hospital-wide, not service-level.

Pricing

Clinic-published prices

The clinic’s own 2026 list prices — a published list price, not a guaranteed quote. Confirm the package detail directly with the clinic before travel.

  • Femur (Thigh Bone) Stature Lengthening$125,000
  • Tibia (Shin Bone) Stature Lengthening$135,000
Included:
Surgical and hospitalization fees, implant costs, anesthesia, office visits until lengthening is completed
Excluded:
Physical therapy, medications, hardware removal, lodging

Source: clinic price page · verified 2026.

Practical details

What the clinic states

Taken directly from the clinic’s own website. Details can change — confirm with the clinic before you travel.

Lengthening achievable
Bone segments can be lengthened by 15 to 100 percent of original length (published as percentage, not cm)
Hospital stay
Only one or two nights in the hospital
Notes
Phone 1.212.606.1000. Chief of Service Austin T. Fragomen, MD. Cites 90% patient recommendation rate. No pricing published.

Source: clinic website · verified 2026-07-11.

Why we listed this clinic

HSS is the #1 US News & World Report orthopedic hospital. Service is a globally cited academic center for LL research and training. The HSS patient FAQ page still describes the PRECICE Stryde nail as "utilized most often at HSS" with no mention of the February 2021 FDA Class II recall or any discontinuation, and cites research through 2025 referencing continued use of the device - this directly conflicts with the expectation (and the existing editorial note) that Stryde would have been phased out. Dr. Reif's profile no longer states a "Director of Education" title.

From the clinic

Videos & surgeon interviews

About Limb Lengthening Surgery with Dr. Robert Rozbruch - YouTube
Jacob's Story - LIMB LENGTHENING: Dr. S. Robert Rozbruch - YouTube

Videos surfaced from public YouTube search for this clinic and its lead surgeon. We do not own or pre-screen this content.

Mentioned across the web

Cross-source coverage

We surface independent search results so you can verify the clinic exists outside its own marketing. Click any source to read it in full — we don't edit or endorse third-party content.

Methods offered

After surgery

Rehabilitation & physiotherapy

Publishes structured, downloadable post-operative physical therapy protocols — a post-op guide, a Phase II strengthening program, and a PRECICE-nail-specific guide covering tibia, femur and ankle. Whether therapy is delivered by a dedicated in-house team or referred out is not stated on the official page.

Source: hss.edu. Reflects clinic and public sources, not an independent audit.

Surgeons

  • Dr. Austin Fragomen
    Dr. Austin Fragomen, MD
    Chief, Limb Lengthening & Complex Reconstruction Service (since Jan 2026)
    Performs: Ilizarov external fixation · bone transport · external fixators / monolateral frame · PRECICE intramedullary lengthening (participated in post-market studies; not named on HSS profile but documented via HSS news and limblengthening.com) · ankle distraction arthroplasty · deformity correction (bowlegs/knock-knees, complex foot/ankle)
    View profile →
  • Dr. S. Robert Rozbruch
    Dr. S. Robert Rozbruch, MD, FAAOS
    Chief Emeritus & Founder (still practicing)
    Performs: PRECICE internal lengthening nails (femur and tibia) · Ilizarov / Taylor Spatial Frame (hexapod) · monolateral external frames · osseointegration amputation reconstruction · ankle distraction arthroplasty · high tibial osteotomy
    View profile →
  • Dr. Taylor Reif
    Dr. Taylor Reif, MD
    Director of Education
    Performs: Limb lengthening · Distraction osteogenesis · Limb deformity correction · Amputation reconstruction via osseointegration prostheses · Complex limb reconstruction (bone tumors, metastatic disease, trauma, infection)
    View profile →
  • Dr. Jason S. Hoellwarth, MD
    Limb Lengthening & Complex Reconstruction Service
    View profile →

Compare with every other leg lengthening surgeon in the directory.

International patient services

Yes — HSS International Center

Accreditations

  • The Joint Commission (US)
  • Magnet Recognition
Before you contact them

Common questions about Hospital for Special Surgery

Answers are built from this clinic's verified record — not from the clinic's marketing.

How do patients rate Hospital for Special Surgery?

Across independent platforms Hospital for Special Surgery holds Google 4.2/5 (654 reviews); Vitals 3.1/5 (162 reviews); Healthgrades 3.8/5 (47 reviews); RateMDs 4.8/5. We show each platform separately rather than blending them into one score; figures were last checked 2026-09-11. Read the reviews themselves, not just the number — limb lengthening reviews cluster at the extremes.

How much does limb lengthening cost at Hospital for Special Surgery?

Our recorded range for Hospital for Special Surgery is $125,000 – $135,000 USD, taken from the clinic’s own published pricing. The clinic publishes an itemised price list (2 line items) which we reproduce further up this page with what is included and excluded. Final cost moves with the method, the target gain in centimetres, hospital nights and follow-up. Get a written quote before travelling.

Which limb lengthening methods does Hospital for Special Surgery offer?

Hospital for Special Surgery lists PRECICE 2, Ilizarov, TSF (Taylor Spatial Frame), LATN. The lead surgeon on record is Dr. Austin Fragomen (MD), listed for ilizarov external fixation, bone transport, external fixators / monolateral frame. Each method page on this site explains how the device works, typical gain and the trade-offs.

What does recovery look like after surgery at Hospital for Special Surgery?

Distraction runs at roughly 1 mm per day for 4–8 weeks, consolidation takes another 3–6 months while the new bone hardens, and physiotherapy-led return to full activity is usually 6–12 months from surgery. Hospital for Special Surgery offers more than one device type (PRECICE 2, Ilizarov, TSF (Taylor Spatial Frame), LATN), and the recovery curve differs between them: internal nails allow earlier weight-bearing, external frames need pin-site care until removal. Ask which protocol applies to your case. On rehabilitation specifically: Publishes structured, downloadable post-operative physical therapy protocols — a post-op guide, a Phase II strengthening program, and a PRECICE-nail-specific guide covering tibia, femur and ankle. Whether therapy is delivered by a dedicated in-house team or referred out is not stated on the official page.

Does Hospital for Special Surgery treat international patients?

Yes — HSS International Center. Consultation languages on record: English, Spanish.

How was Hospital for Special Surgery verified for this directory?

Hospital for Special Surgery is listed at Tier 1 — we cross-checked surgeon credentials, hospital affiliation, regulatory status and published outcomes against independent sources. We hold 4 source URLs for this entry. Last verified 2026-09-11. The clinic cannot pay to change its tier, ranking or reviews; paid options only affect presentation and are always labelled.

Where is Hospital for Special Surgery and where are operations performed?

Hospital for Special Surgery is in New York, NY, USA. Hospital affiliation on record: Hospital for Special Surgery (HSS) — world's #1 orthopedic hospital per U.S. News (multiple consecutive years)

Operating system, made visible

How we verified this clinic

Tier
Tier 1 — fully researched
Last verified
2 days ago
Hospital affiliation
Hospital for Special Surgery (HSS) — world's #1 orthopedic hospital per U.S. News (multiple consecutive years)
Languages at consultation
English, Spanish

Verification covers: named surgeon credentials, hospital affiliation, methods offered, public-facing website, and regulatory status. We re-verify quarterly. If a clinic fails a re-verification, we add an editorial note or demote its tier — we do not quietly remove it.

Independence: this clinic cannot pay to change its ranking, Directory Score, tier, or reviews. Paid options affect presentation only and are always labeled. We take no commission and charge no per-patient fee. Editorial policy.

Medical disclaimer

This directory is editorial. It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a substitute for consultation with a qualified surgeon. Pricing and availability change — always verify directly with the clinic before making decisions.

Are you a clinic?

Get listed in our directory.

We verify every clinic before listing — surgeons, methods, hospital affiliation, regulatory status. Submit your clinic for editorial review. No paid rankings. No hidden fees.

Apply to be listed