Limb Lengthening ClinicsLimb LengtheningClinics
Blog/Method choice

The PRECICE nail, explained: magnet, sizes, removal and cost by country

Limb Lengthening Clinics Editorial TeamReviewed by Op. Dr. Hüseyin Kavak (MD, Orthopedics & Traumatology) Clinical accuracy checkedLast reviewed Sep 11, 2026 Fact-checked against primary sources12 min read

The PRECICE nail is a titanium telescoping rod implanted inside the femur or tibia and lengthened from outside by a hand-held magnet, about 1 mm a day, up to 80 mm per nail. Three versions matter to patients: PRECICE 2 (current), Stryde (stainless steel, recalled 2021) and PRECICE Max (thicker, cleared 2023). The label requires removal within one year.

A PRECICE nail lengthens a femur or tibia by about 1 mm a day from a magnet held against the skin, and it has to come out again within a year. Those two facts explain most of what a patient lives through: no external frame, no pin sites, a few minutes a day with a hand-held controller, months on crutches, and a second operation. The first generation was cleared in 2011; the line has since produced PRECICE 2, the recalled Stryde and the newer PRECICE Max. One nail serves one bone, so lengthening both femurs means two implants, and bilateral femurs cost $114,500 at the Paley Stature Center in Florida against $56,000 to $58,000 in Istanbul.

What is the PRECICE nail?

The PRECICE nail is an intramedullary limb-lengthening implant: a telescoping titanium rod with a small magnet and a gear train sealed inside, slid down the marrow canal of the femur or tibia and locked at both ends with screws. Nothing crosses the skin. Lengthening is driven from outside by a hand-held External Remote Controller (ERC) whose rotating magnet turns the magnet inside the nail; the gears turn and the nail extends. The implants are Ti-6Al-4V titanium to ASTM F136, sterile and single-use, one nail per bone.

The device is made by NuVasive Specialized Orthopedics, which began as Ellipse Technologies and sells the line today under Globus Medical. It is not new. Dror Paley's 2015 review in Expert Review of Medical Devices records FDA clearance and CE marking for the first generation in 2011 and the second in 2013, with more than 1,000 cases worldwide by then. The current instructions for use (IFU LC0305 Rev D, March 2023) cover limb lengthening, fracture fixation, non-unions and bone transport of long bones in patients 18 and older, and femur or tibia lengthening in children over 12. The label does not say why the limb is being lengthened; cosmetic stature surgery runs under the same indication as deformity correction, and candidacy is the surgeon's call.

Against LON (an external frame over a passive nail) and the Ilizarov frame, the case for the PRECICE nail is the absence of external hardware. In the 2021 systematic review of 983 motorised-nail segments, 747 of them PRECICE, infection occurred in 0.8% of segments. What the nail asks in return is money, months of partial weight-bearing, and a removal operation inside a year.

How does the magnet lengthen the bone?

Surgery first. The surgeon cuts the bone through a short incision, reams the canal, inserts the PRECICE nail and locks it top and bottom. After a latency period set by the surgeon, you press the ERC against the thigh or shin over the mark where the magnet sits. The controller's magnet spins, the implant's magnet follows, and the gears push the telescoping section out by a fraction of a millimetre.

The International Center for Limb Lengthening in Baltimore prescribes 0.75 to 1 mm a day, usually as four sessions of 0.25 mm, each about two minutes. A 6 cm gain at 1 mm a day is roughly 60 days of sessions.

Two physical limits decide what a nail can do. Stroke: Globus Medical states up to 80 mm of distraction, and the ICLL lists models of 30, 50 and 80 mm. Reach: the ERC works through soft tissue, so the IFU caps the distance from skin to canal at 13 to 16 mm for tibial nails and 38 to 90 mm for femoral nails, depending on diameter and controller generation (ERC 1 to ERC 4P). A thick thigh over a thin nail is a real exclusion, which is why the surgeon measures canal and soft-tissue depth on imaging before booking.

PRECICE 2, Stryde and PRECICE Max: what changed between generations

Three PRECICE nails have gone into adults for stature lengthening, and only two of them should be offered today.

PRECICE 2 is the second-generation titanium nail cleared in 2013; clinics now list the current revision as PRECICE 2.2. Stryde was the same telescoping design in stainless steel, marketed for a higher load during lengthening (the trade-off is on the Stryde method page). On 12 February 2021 NuVasive told surgeons to stop implanting it after reports of pain and bony abnormalities at the interface between the telescoping segments. The FDA posted the action on 30 March 2021 as a Class II recall, Z-1323-2021: 2,360 units, distributed to the United States and 27 other countries including Turkey, Germany and Spain, status still open. The FDA's June 2023 letter repeats that the stainless-steel PRECICE devices remain recalled and should not be implanted.

PRECICE Max is the thicker titanium successor, cleared by the FDA on 15 December 2023 (510(k) K232267) with the same indications, magnet and ERC controllers; larger nail and screw diameters are the only listed technological differences. On 30 September 2024 it went on the recall list too: Z-0500-2025, Class II, 164 devices in Florida and Nevada, for potential design, manufacturing and validation-documentation issues, with customers told to monitor implanted patients and return stock. A PubMed search for "Precice Max" on 11 September 2026 returns one paper, and it is about Stryde.

GenerationMaterialNail diametersPatient weight limit on the labelStatus, September 2026
PRECICE 2 (current revision 2.2)Titanium Ti-6Al-4V8.5, 9.0, 9.5, 10.0, 10.5, 10.7, 11.5, 12.5 mm57 kg for 8.5–10.5 mm nails and some 10.7 mm models; 114 kg for most 10.7, 11.5 and 12.5 mm nailsIn use. FDA not aware of biocompatibility events in titanium devices (June 2023)
PRECICE StrydeStainless steelWithdrawnNot to be implantedClass II recall Z-1323-2021, initiated 12 February 2021, 2,360 units, open
PRECICE MaxTitanium Ti-6Al-4V ELI10, 11.5, 13 mmNone published; maker claims 2.6x the bending strength of PRECICE 2 (data on file)Cleared 15 December 2023 (K232267); Class II recall Z-0500-2025, 30 September 2024, 164 devices, open

What sizes does it come in, and who is not a candidate?

Diameter is the first number on your plan. The IFU lists nails from 8.5 to 12.5 mm and ties each to a maximum patient weight: 57 kg for the 8.5 to 10.5 mm nails (and some 10.7 mm models), 114 kg for most 10.7, 11.5 and 12.5 mm nails. The FDA's June 2023 letter adds a floor of 50 lb and a cap of two PRECICE devices in a patient at once, which is why femurs and tibias are lengthened in stages, not with four nails at a time. The canal has to accept the nail: an irregular or obliterated medullary canal is a listed contraindication, and so is bone too weak or infected to hold the locking screws.

The rest of the exclusion list is short. Pre-existing nerve palsy. Metal allergy or sensitivity. A nail that would cross a joint or an open growth plate. Poor blood supply to the limb. Pregnancy. And patients unwilling or unable to follow the after-care, which here means daily controller sessions, logged, and months on crutches.

Two more concern the magnet rather than the bone. The IFU does not recommend the system for patients with pacemakers, and it classes the implant as MR Unsafe: a patient with a PRECICE nail must not come near an MRI scanner. The ICLL puts it plainly: not a good candidate if you have a pacemaker or know you will need an MRI in the next year. The IFU also flags smoking, chronic steroid use and anti-inflammatory drugs as risks to the regenerate.

Recovery on a PRECICE nail, and why it comes out at one year

The nail is a lengthening device, not a load-bearing one. The IFU's first warning is that it cannot withstand the stresses of full weight bearing in the femur or tibia, and its precautions bar any activity that loads more than 20% of body weight onto the treated leg during distraction. Expect crutches or a walker with a PRECICE nail through lengthening and into consolidation. This site's published walking timeline for internal-nail patients: crutches within days, partial weight-bearing at 10 to 16 weeks once distraction ends, unaided walking at 4 to 6 months, running at 9 to 12 months after imaging shows cortical bone.

Removal is not optional and not far off. The IFU states the device should be removed after an implantation time of no more than one year. The FDA repeated "the device should be removed after one year" in June 2023. The ICLL tells patients removal is typically about one year after insertion, and the HSS stature-lengthening page, written by surgeon Taylor Reif and updated in August 2026, gives around 12 months.

That is a second operation with its own anaesthetic, theatre time and bill. The Paley Stature Center lists hardware removal at $18,000 for both femurs and $22,500 for both tibias, outside the surgical package; LimbplastX in Las Vegas quotes $15,000 to $20,000. Ask who does the removal, where, and whether it is in the quote. A price that stops at the first surgery is not the price.

How much does a PRECICE nail cost by country?

The implant is the same in every country. Two clinics that itemise it put the nail at €15,000 (Cairo International Centre for Limb Lengthening) and about $18,000 (CORA Group, Medellín) each; LimbplastX lists two PRECICE Max femoral implants at $41,000. Two nails for bilateral femurs therefore set a floor of roughly $30,000 to $40,000 before anyone operates, which is why a PRECICE nail never prices like LON, even in India or Turkey. Everything above the floor is hospital, surgeon, physiotherapy and legal exposure.

The table gives clinic-published prices for bilateral femur lengthening with a PRECICE nail, opened on 11 September 2026 or recorded from the clinic's own page in our directory; USD figures for other currencies are approximate. Read what each figure includes: the cheapest headline is usually the narrowest. The spread is roughly 2 to 1 between Istanbul and New York, not the 9 to 1 the cost pillar documents across all methods, because the implant floor does not move. Removal is extra almost everywhere.

Country and clinicBilateral femurs, PRECICE (clinic-published)What the figure includesNail removal
United States: Paley Stature Center, West Palm Beach$114,500 (up to 8 cm)Surgery, in-patient stay, imaging, physiotherapy; excludes travel, housing and hardware removal$18,000 femurs, $22,500 tibias
United States: Hospital for Special Surgery, New York$125,000Surgical and hospital fees, implants, anaesthesia, visits until lengthening ends; excludes physiotherapy, removal, lodgingNot included
United States: LimbplastX Institute, Las Vegas$84,000 PRECICE 2.2; $100,000 PRECICE MaxTwo nails, operating room, anaesthesia, X-rays, up to 55 physiotherapy sessions$15,000–$20,000
Canada: Canadian Limb Lengthening Centre, MontrealCAD 96,000 (about $70,000)Three months of physiotherapy and taxes; private and out-of-province patients onlyCAD 13,000 plus tax, both legs
United Kingdom: Giotikas Clinic, London price list£76,500 (about $97,000)Three nights in hospital, pre-operative checks, outpatient physiotherapy four times a week during lengthening£8,500 per pair
Poland: Paley European Institute, Warsaw€59,950 (about $65,000), 8 cmTwo PRECICE implants, 3-day stay, 12 doctor visits, 80 hours of physiotherapy, 12 X-raysNot included
Spain: Instituto Downey, Sevillefrom €51,500 (about $56,000), up to 8 cm, PRECICE 2.2Approximate; excludes complications and any extra materialNot stated
Turkey: Istanbul clinics in our directory$56,000–$58,000From surgery only (Lengthening Turkey, femur or tibia) to a 4-day stay with implants and six months of complication insurance (Wanna Be Taller)$7,000 add-on at Lengthening Turkey
India: Dr. Amar Sarin, Sri Balaji Action Medical Institute, New Delhi₹46 lakh (about $55,000)Surgical care, hospital, rehabilitation plan; the clinic cites ₹40–70 lakh as the national rangeNot stated
Egypt and Cyprus: CICLLR, Prof. Yasser Elbatrawy€48,000 (about $52,000), bilateral PRECICE 2 in CyprusIncludes hospitalisation; nail itemised at €15,000 eachNot stated

What can go wrong with a magnetic lengthening nail?

The best class-level number is the 2021 systematic review by Frost and colleagues in Acta Orthopaedica: 983 motorised-nail segments (747 PRECICE, 214 FITBONE), 332 complications, 34% of segments. Device-related events led at 12% of segments. Distraction-mechanism failure ran at 5% (45 segments), joint contracture at 5% (53), delayed healing at 5% (46), premature consolidation at 2% (19), infection at 0.8%. Five percent of segments failed to reach the lengthening goal and 3% were left with permanent sequelae. Those are mixed cohorts, reconstructive and cosmetic, femur and tibia, adults and children; the cosmetic subset is not reported separately.

The manufacturer's list for the PRECICE nail is consistent with that. The IFU names loss of distraction or uncontrolled lengthening, failure to lengthen, implant bending or fracture, loosening, joint stiffness and subluxation, and reactions to titanium wear debris, and cites a retrospective study with loss of adjacent joint motion in 4.0% of patients, subluxation in 6.0% and angular malalignment in 1.0%.

Then the recall history, which is device-specific. Stryde's stainless steel failed at the telescoping junction, with pain and bone loss at the interface; the imaging numbers are on the Stryde recall page. PRECICE Max carries a 2024 Class II recall over design and validation documentation, 164 devices, still open. For titanium PRECICE 2 the FDA said in June 2023 it was not aware of biocompatibility-related adverse events, while continuing to monitor. Read together: the nail removes the frame's problems (pin infection, months in external hardware) and adds its own (mechanism failure, a one-year removal, a magnet you cannot scan). Neither list is empty.

How to read a clinic that offers the PRECICE nail

Six questions sort the clinics. Which nail diameter am I getting, and where does my weight sit against the IFU table? Will you show me the weight-bearing protocol in writing, and does it respect the label's 20% limit during distraction? Is removal within one year in the quote, and who performs it? If you offer PRECICE Max, was your stock part of the September 2024 recall? How do you screen for pacemakers and future MRI needs? What is the plan if the nail stops lengthening, which the systematic review puts at about 5% of segments?

Red flags need no second opinion. A promise of full weight-bearing on a PRECICE 2 nail from day one contradicts the manufacturer's warning. A suggestion the nail can stay in for years contradicts the IFU and the FDA. Stryde on the menu in 2026 is withdrawn stock. A quote without the removal operation is a partial quote. A surgeon who has not measured your canal and soft-tissue depth on imaging has not yet decided whether the ERC can reach your magnet.

The PRECICE nail is the most-published internal lengthening implant on the market, 747 of the 983 segments in the 2021 systematic review, and the most expensive line item in cosmetic limb lengthening. The device is the same in Istanbul, Warsaw and West Palm Beach; the surgeon, the protocol and the follow-up are not. Compare the surgeons in our directory before you compare the prices.

Key takeaways
  • ·A PRECICE nail lengthens about 1 mm a day from a hand-held magnet, up to 80 mm per nail; a 6 cm gain is roughly 60 days of sessions.
  • ·Label limits: 57 kg for 8.5–10.5 mm nails, 114 kg for most 10.7–12.5 mm nails, no more than two nails at once, MR Unsafe, not recommended with a pacemaker.
  • ·No more than 20% of body weight on the leg during distraction; the nail comes out within one year in a second operation ($18,000 for both femurs at Paley).
  • ·Stryde (stainless steel) is a Class II recall from February 2021, 2,360 units; PRECICE Max was recalled in September 2024, 164 devices; both records are open.
  • ·Bilateral femur PRECICE prices, clinic-published: $56,000–$58,000 in Istanbul, €59,950 in Warsaw, £76,500 on a London list, $114,500–$125,000 in the United States.
  • ·Complications in 34% of 983 motorised-nail segments (2021 review): 5% mechanism failure, 5% contracture, 0.8% infection, 3% permanent sequelae.

Quick answers

How long does it take to recover from Precice nail surgery?+

Plan on a year to the removal operation. Distraction runs about 1 mm a day, so a 6 cm gain is roughly two months of sessions, with the leg limited to 20% of body weight. On this site's published timeline, internal-nail patients reach partial weight-bearing at 10 to 16 weeks, unaided walking at 4 to 6 months and running at 9 to 12 months once imaging shows consolidated bone. The nail comes out within one year.

What is the Precice nail system technique?+

One operation, then daily homework. The surgeon cuts the femur or tibia through a short incision, reams the canal, slides in the PRECICE nail and locks both ends with screws. After a few days of latency the patient holds the External Remote Controller over the implanted magnet, usually four sessions of 0.25 mm a day, and the nail extends about 1 mm daily. It stays in as an internal splint until the new bone consolidates, then is removed within a year.

How much does Precice MAX limb lengthening cost?+

The only clinic-published PRECICE Max prices we have opened are from LimbplastX Institute in Las Vegas: $100,000 for bilateral femurs and $110,000 for bilateral tibias, against $84,000 and $90,000 for PRECICE 2.2 at the same clinic, with the two Max femoral implants itemised at $41,000. Removal, $15,000 to $20,000, is extra. We could not verify a published Max price outside the United States; the FDA's 2024 recall record lists distribution only to Florida and Nevada.

Can you grow 6 inches with surgery?+

Not with one nail. A PRECICE nail lengthens up to 80 mm, and the cosmetic femur plans at Paley and HSS top out at 8 cm. Six inches is 15 cm, which means femurs and tibias, usually a year apart. HSS puts the total at about 5 to 6 inches (8 cm of femur plus 2 to 3 inches of tibia); the Paley Stature Center prices femur-then-tibia at about 13.15 cm for $239,500 and two rounds at about 16 cm for $313,000.

Can I have an MRI or a pacemaker with a PRECICE nail?+

No to both while the nail is in. The instructions for use class the PRECICE system as MR Unsafe, so a patient with the implant must not come near an MRI scanner, and the system is not recommended in patients with pacemakers because of the magnet. CT and X-ray remain available; MRI is possible again after removal.

Sources

  1. 1.NuVasive Specialized Orthopedics. PRECICE Intramedullary Limb Lengthening System, Instructions for Use, LC0305 Rev D (March 2023)Ti-6Al-4V per ASTM F136; indications (18+, femur/tibia over 12); contraindications; patient weight caps by diameter (57 kg / 114 kg); skin-to-canal limits (13–16 mm tibia, 38–90 mm femur); 20% body-weight precaution during distraction; MR Unsafe; pacemaker; removal after no more than one year; adverse-event list with 4.0% / 6.0% / 1.0% figures
  2. 2.Globus Medical. Precice Limb Lengthening System, product pageMagnet and ERC principle of operation; up to 80 mm of distraction osteogenesis; Globus Medical as the current seller of the line
  3. 3.Globus Medical. Precice Max Intramedullary Limb Lengthening System, product pageNail diameters 10, 11.5 and 13 mm; 2.6x dynamic bending strength and 1.3x rotational stability versus PRECICE 2, footnoted "mechanical testing data on file"; no weight limit published
  4. 4.FDA 510(k) Summary K232267: Precice Max System, NuVasive Specialized Orthopedics (decision 15 December 2023)Ti-6Al-4V ELI per ASTM F136; indications identical to predicate K220234; compatible with ERC 1, 2P, 3P and 4P; larger nail diameter and larger screw diameter listed as the technological differences
  5. 5.FDA. Update on NuVasive Specialized Orthopedics' Precice Devices: Letter to Health Care Providers (28 June 2023)Device should be removed after one year; no patients under 50 lb or above the IFU maximum weight; no more than two devices at once; FDA not aware of biocompatibility events with titanium devices; stainless-steel Stryde, Plate and Bone Transport remain recalled
  6. 6.FDA Medical Device Recalls database: PRECICE STRYDE System, recall number Z-1323-2021Class II; firm-initiated 12 February 2021, posted 30 March 2021; 2,360 units; distribution to the United States and 27 other countries including Turkey, Germany and Spain; reason: pain and bony abnormalities at the interface between the telescoping nail segments; status open
  7. 7.FDA Medical Device Recalls database: Precice Max, recall number Z-0500-2025Class II; initiated 30 September 2024, posted 21 November 2024; 164 devices distributed in Florida and Nevada; potential design, manufacturing and validation-documentation issues; customers told to monitor patients and return stock; status open
  8. 8.Frost MW, Rahbek O, Traerup J, Ceccotti AA, Kold S. Systematic review of complications with externally controlled motorized intramedullary bone lengthening nails (FITBONE and PRECICE) in 983 segments. Acta Orthop 2021;92(1):120-127 (PMC7919879)983 segments (747 PRECICE, 214 FITBONE); 332 complications, 34% of segments; device-related 12%; distraction-mechanism failure 5%; joint contracture 5%; delayed healing 5%; premature consolidation 2%; infection 0.8%; 5% failed to reach goal; 3% permanent sequelae
  9. 9.Paley D. PRECICE intramedullary limb lengthening system. Expert Rev Med Devices 2015;12(3):231-249 (PubMed 25692375)Manufacturer Ellipse Technologies; FDA clearance and CE mark for the first generation (2011) and second generation (2013); more than 1,000 cases worldwide by 2015
  10. 10.International Center for Limb Lengthening, Sinai Hospital of Baltimore. Internal Fixation: Precice Nail (patient information)0.75–1 mm per day, typically four sessions of 0.25 mm of about two minutes each; models of 30, 50 and 80 mm; removal approximately one year after insertion; not a candidate with a pacemaker or an MRI need in the next year; limited weight-bearing
  11. 11.Paley Stature Center, Paley Orthopedic & Spine Institute, West Palm Beach: leg lengthening surgery price list (opened 11 September 2026)Bilateral femur up to 8 cm $114,500; tibia up to 5 cm $125,000; femur then tibia about 13.15 cm $239,500; two rounds about 16 cm $313,000; hardware removal $18,000 femurs and $22,500 tibias; inclusions and exclusions
  12. 12.Reif TJ. Frequently asked questions about stature lengthening surgery. Hospital for Special Surgery, New York (updated 4 August 2026)$125,000 for the femurs and $135,000 for the tibias including implants and hospital fees; 8 cm from the femur plus 2–3 inches from the tibia for about 5–6 inches total; rods removed around 12 months
  13. 13.LimbplastX Institute, Las Vegas: stature lengthening treatments and pricing (opened 11 September 2026)PRECICE 2.2 femur $84,000 and tibia $90,000; PRECICE Max femur $100,000 and tibia $110,000; two Max femoral implants itemised at $41,000; nail removal $15,000–$20,000; inclusions and exclusions
Was this useful?

Get matched with a verified clinic.

Our editor reviews your inquiry and introduces you to 2–3 clinics that fit your budget and goals. First clinic consult is usually free. We never sell your data.

Get matched — free →
Are you a clinic?

Get listed in our directory.

We verify every clinic before listing — surgeons, methods, hospital affiliation, regulatory status. Submit your clinic for editorial review. No paid rankings. No hidden fees.

Apply to be listed